Search

COMING SOON: NOVEMBER 2020 REALEASE


Microsoft Teams: Virtual Breakout Rooms

Coming November 2020 Microsoft Teams Breakout Rooms are coming! You must turn on the new Teams meeting experience to see the Breakout Room options within your meetings. Make sure to check your settings, "Turn on new meeting experience" in the General settings. Restart and "Boom"


For participants, desktop or mobile, to take advantage of the Virtual Breakout Room they must be on the latest version of Teams.


Features available for Organizer:

  • Breakout room setup on Teams desktop client

  • Create breakout rooms in scheduled private meetings (including recurring) and private meet now meetings

  • Meeting organizers can manage rooms and hop between rooms freely

  • Setup breakout rooms during an active meeting

  • Create up to 50 breakout rooms in a single meeting

  • Add, remove, delete breakout rooms

  • Rename rooms to the title of your choice

  • Reassign room participants from one room to another before as well as while the rooms are open

  • Room transition: as an organizer, you can decide if participants get moved to the room automatically when you open the room, or if they need to click to confirm the move. The “auto-accept” setting is available per meeting.

  • Send an announcement that will show up as a meeting chat message in each room.

  • Chats, files, and recordings: only the organizer will always have access to all rooms meeting artifacts

Features available for the participants:

  • Join breakout rooms from the web, desktop, iOS, iPads, Android mobiles, and tablets. Note that organizers cannot move participants who joined via Desk phones or Teams devices join a breakout room, they can stay in the main meeting as their breakout room.

  • Participants join the room as presenters, so they can present, share Whiteboard, etc. freely.

  • Participants cannot add others to meeting chat, copy meeting details, nudge others to the meeting, or use “call me back”

  • Hoping between rooms: Meeting participants cannot hop back to the main meeting or between rooms on their own. They must wait for the meeting organizer to pull them back to the main meeting.

  • Chat during the breakout session. Chat and artifacts shared during meetings are viewable for room participants.

  • Chats, files, and recordings: Participants have access to artifacts, but only the organizer has access to the links – if a link is shared by the meeting organizer, then participants will have access

  • Multi-device join: breakout room is not supported when the participant joins the same meeting and same account from multiple devices

(Microsoft, 2020)

0 views

(469) 454-8522

©2020 by Techgem Educational Technologies LLC Website Terms and Conditions

  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Facebook - White Circle